Innercare Professional Psychological Counselling
Home    |   ENGLISH

Children/adolescents or even demented elderly/their caregivers nowadays are facing with pressures of all kinds. Yet, family members may find it difficult to help them to cope since they may not be able to verbalize their inner thoughts and feelings appropriately.

How can Innercare Play n Art Therapy help?

Innercare Play n Art Therapy provides a warm, friendly and safe environment with various creative media that the Certified Play Therapist, Play Therapy UK, adopts a non-directive, non-interpretative and non-judgmental way of helping children/adolescents or demented elderly/their caregivers to deal with their emotional, mental and behavioral issues (including anxiety, fear, insecurity, depressed mood, hatred, loneliness, inefficacy, low self-esteem, social/adaptive difficulties, autistic tendency, obsessive-compulsive behaviors, attention deficit/hyperactivity/impulsiveness … etc)..

What is it like?

It is like the Chinese Medicine Practitioner using herbs in a mild way to help people to clean out what is disturbing them inside. It is believed that once the inner toxicity is vented, the body could resume its functioning by itself. This inside-out approach might take time but the effect is supposed to be more long-lasting.
The rationale of Play n Art Therapy is quite the same that through this self-directed inside-out therapeutic approach, children/adolescents or demented elderly/their caregivers will resume better self-value, self-competence, self-regulation and self-resolution having vented their emotions, gained insight of what is happening in and around them, experienced change and freed from their restrictions. This could also pave the way for the subsequent cognitive and/or behavioural therapy to come.

How effective is it?

According to the latest Play Therapy UK Research Results* published in 2011, between 74% and 83% of children receiving play therapy (ie the Play n Art Therapy), delivered to Play Therapy UK/Play Therapy International standards, show a positive change. The more severe the problems, the greater the percentage of children show a positive change; and the younger the age, the better.

* Source from http://www.playtherapy.org.uk/AboutPTUK/Research1.htm

How long will it take for the effect to be realized?

A series of 12 sessions** is recommended as the first stage as children/adolescents or demented elderly/their caregivers need to adapt to the environment and feel safe before they could start to express themselves through the various creative media; sometimes it might take 2 to 3 or even 4 to 5 sessions for their initial adaptation.

** 6 sessions for group work

Is there anything family members need to do?

Try to be patient as far as possible since change does take time. During the process, some children/adolescents or demented elderly/their caregivers might seem like worse a little as things are stirring up inside and this could be seen as the transformation stage they have to go through. Just observe, be patient, be open and trust that change will come.
In general, children/adolescents or demented elderly/their caregivers having gone through at least 6 sessions of the Play n Art Therapy, a review meeting could be held between the respective family members and the play therapist to update the progress and strengthen the coordination for their growth and therapeutic effect***!

*** To evaluate its effectiveness, the play therapist will meet with the family members before and after the therapy for pre- and post- measurements

Questionnaire & Form

For further inquiry or appointment, please contact us.

Or you can fill out and email the following forms to us, and we will contact you shortly.

Strengths and Difficulties Questionnaire
Confidential Intake Form

心寬 . 躍 專業心理輔導
主頁    |   ENGLISH

現今兒童/青少年甚或認知障礙症患者/家人面對的壓力有增無減!
由於他們未必懂得以適切的言語表達內心深處的感受與想法,有時令關心他們的家屬亦感無從為他們解困。

「心寬.躍遊戲及藝術治療」怎麼提供協助?

「心寬.躍遊戲及藝術治療」提供一個溫暖、友善與安全的環境,由英國認證遊戲治療師 (Certified Play Therapist, PTUK) 透過多元化的創意遊戲與藝術媒體,讓兒童/青少年或認知障礙症患者/家人在包容與接納的氣氛下,逐步處理其情緒、精神及行為的困擾 (包括:焦慮、恐懼、不安、抑鬱、仇恨、孤單、無力感、自尊低落、社交/適應困難、自閉傾向、強迫行為、專注力不足/過度活躍/衝動 … 等等)。

這可比喻作什麼?

就好像中醫藥療法,以溫和的草藥抒解體內的症狀,排解毒素,從而恢復人體自身的抗病及自癒能力。此由內而外的療法或許需時,效用卻較持久。

「心寬.躍遊戲及藝術治療」的理念亦是以人的自身主導,由內而外的方式作治療;讓兒童/青少年或認知障礙症患者/家人在疏解情緒的困擾、洞悉自己的狀況與處境後,經歷可能的改變、走出困局,重拾自身的價值、自我能力感、調適力與自我解難的天賦,更為後續或需的認知及/或行為治療作準備!

成效有多大?

根據 Play Therapy United Kingdom (PTUK) 於2011年發表之研究結果*顯示:以 PTUK 標準進行遊戲治療 (即:遊戲及藝術治療) 的兒童,其中 74-83% 有正面的改變。問題越嚴重,改變的成效越明顯;年紀越輕,效果越佳。

* 資料來源: http://www.playtherapy.org.uk/AboutPTUK/Research1.htm

需時多久才見效?

建議首階段之「遊戲及藝術治療」為 12 節**,之後可按情況而延續。因兒童/青少年或認知障礙症患者/家人需要先適應環境並感到安全後,才開始以不同的創意遊戲與藝術媒體去表達其內心的感受與想法;此適應期有些為 2-3 節,甚或 4-5 節的時間。

** 若以小組形式進行,則以6節為起始

家屬需要做什麼嗎?

改變是需要時間與耐性的!在過程中,有些兒童/青少年或認知障礙症患者/家人因內心世界被接觸,壓抑已久的情緒開始浮現,其情況可能看似轉壞。作為關心他們的家屬,可將此看為是他/她必須經過的「好轉反應」或「蛻變期」;只要靜心觀察、忍耐、以開放的態度,相信改變將會來臨!

一般情況下,兒童/青少年或認知障礙症患者/家人經過最少 6 節的「遊戲及藝術治療」後,家屬可與有關之遊戲治療師作面談,了解進度,加強協作成果***!

*** 為有效評估相關治療之成效,遊戲治療師會與家屬於治療前後作面談並填寫有關的問卷作對照

問卷及表格

如有查詢或預約,請聯絡我們。

亦可先填妥並電郵下列表格予我們,我們將盡快與閣下聯絡。
長處和困難問卷 (SDQ)
個人資料表格 (Confidential Intake Form)